Nice guys fill niche space first

A picture of a NutNet site. I’ve no idea what site, or who took it, but it was part of the front page of the NutNet website where it was also unattributed, so I’m assuming no one minds me displaying it here too!

trait.space is based around a simple assumption: given a co-existence matrix of species (0–> species coexist always, 1–> species don’t co-exist at all) we should be able to plot all those species in 2-D space (i.e., on a piece of paper) and their distance be proportional to their coexistence. It’s perhaps not the most complicated model in the world, and it makes absolutely no attempt to link to mechanism in any way.

It does have the advantage that you can make predictions for whether species you haven’t observed together (perhaps they’re in different continents) could potentially co-exist if given the chance. Since all species are put somewhere in the 2-D space, and species are only parameterised on the basis of species that overlap (via the ‘mask’ argument), if the space in some way reflects reality then position in it should have predictive power.

I worked on all this at a recent NutNet meeting. I was quite shocked at how nice everyone in the room was: they let a horrible data parasite like me just tag along for the ride, and I’m very grateful for it. So, if you’re a member of NutNet, thank you, and here’s that code I was working on during the meeting. I’m putting this up here in the spirit of how nice and friendly those guys were; a few people have expressed surprise that I put all these things that I work on here online before publishing them. Like it has for the people at NutNet, I’m hoping that being nice  pays off in the long-run.

Leave a Reply

