Phylogeny simulation 101

Species across a landscape, as simulate by Boucher et al. It's this pretty stained-glass-esque diagram that inspired me to do this!

Species across a landscape, as simulate by Boucher et al. It’s this pretty stained-glass-esque diagram that inspired me to do this!

Lots of people have written code to simulate phylogenies, and yet more have written code that simulate traits across phylogenies. I’m not claiming any great novelty in what I’ve just done, but sim.bd.tree simulates a phylogeny under given speciation and extinction rates, and sim.bd.tr.tree simulates a phylogeny, and a trait that affects speciation and extinction rate.

What I like about this is that the dependence on trait values is actually a dependence on what values of that trait other species have – in other words, it’s a niche-packing kind of model. Again, I’m not claiming any great novelty in these sorts of models (read this excellent paper, for example), but this was my first stab in what I hope will be a long stream of work. This is very raw code (a quick skim of it makes me realise a refactor would more than halve its length) but it does get the job done (I hope!).

My first impression is that this stuff isn’t very hard, so if you have any interest you should definitely give it a go. Moreover, the insight I gained from it was quite important – the shape and size of a phylogeny changes a great deal over different simulations, and while on some level I knew this it was only while checking to see if I’d messed something up that I really gathered a true appreciation for it.

Next post… either a model incorporating communities/biogeography (–> some model of allopatric speciation), or a vague attempt at fitting estimting the parameters I set once the phylogeny/traits are calculated. I have a feeling those two will be much harder!…

Leave a Reply

